Pavilion Lodge, Santa Catalina Island
Pavilion Lodge, Santa Catalina Island, built in 1957.
“The old dance pavilion was built in 1892 by William and Hancock Banning. Admission to the dance pavilion was part of the ‘commutation ticket’ fare for the cross-channel voyage to Avalon. On many of the trips to Avalon you could enjoy live musical entertainment. From 1904 to 1927 this musical experience was expanded at Porter’s Catalina Island Marine Band played from 7:00 to 9:00 in the evening at the Greek Amphitheatre (now known as the Avalon Bowl), and then from 9:00 P.M. to 11:00 P.M. at the dance pavilion.
In 1929 when the Casino Ballroom opened for the big band dancing and entertainment, the dance pavilion was converted to ‘Sportland,’ featuring archery, ping-pong, shuffleboard and five bowling alleys. Then in the 1950s, as the Island Villas became less practical for overnight visitors, this front street location was ideal for a new and badly needed hotel. In 1957 construction was started on the Pavilion Lodge, which was so named because the word ‘pavilion’ was deeply entrenched in Avalon vocabulary.
Although remodeled throughout its 33-year history, the Pavilion Lodge is now  undergoing extensive upgrading, including all new furnishings, sound proofing, air conditioning and plumbing.” [Water Lines 4th Q., 1995].