Seal Rocks, Santa Cruz Island

From Islapedia
Jump to: navigation, search


Seal Rocks, Santa Cruz Island




In the News~

May 12, 1915 [SBDNI]: “Camping parties for Santa Cruz Island planned. Otter will carry first crowd of season tomorrow from Carpinteria…Tomorrow afternoon the Otter will carry a party of Cate School Carpinteria, pupils and teachers, to Pelican Bay… A side trip to Seal Rocks, Painted Cave and the Aggie wreck will be made …”


May 19, 1915 [SBDNI]: “So delighted are the Normal School students who went on the excursion to Santa Cruz Island over Saturday and Sunday, with the beauty of the wondrous isle, that they are planning another trip for early July. A total of 37 students, both men and women, enjoyed the outing, returning late Sunday. Various points of interest, including Prisoners’ Harbor, Pelican Bay, Seal Rocks, Painted Cave and Cueva Valdez were visited and explored. The party made the trip in the motorboat Otter, the craft’s business agent, B. Hilbing, personally conducting the students, and seeing that everyone had a good time.”


May 31, 1915 [SBDNI]: “Carrying a party of 20 excursionists to Santa Cruz Island, the powerboat Otter left today in charge of Captain R. Vasquez, to explore the beauty of the isle, Fry’s Harbor, Painted Cave, Cueva Valdez, Seal Rocks, and other points of interest were visited.”